Izmir , 25th March 2024 


The prize distribution ceremony of the Chughtai Art Awards 2023 was held in Izmir today under the theme of ‘Cultural Kaleidoscope: Vibrant Traditions and Heritage of Pakistan’. The event was graced by  Ambassador of Pakistan to Turkiye Dr. Yousaf Junaid as chief guest. Also in attendance were Pakistan’s Honorary Consul General in Izmir Cahit Yasar Eren, Ambassador Naciye Gokcen Kaya from the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, officials from the Pakistan Embassy, Izmir Provincial Directorate of National Education, students, and media representatives.

Ambassador Dr. Yousaf Junaid highlighted the special relationship between Pakistan and Turkiye, emphasizing their shared cultural, religious, and spiritual heritage that transcended boundaries of time and geography. He shared the historical perspective of the fraternal ties and aspired to further deepen the brotherly relationship further especially through the exchange of artists and enhancing of bilateral tourism and people-to-people contacts.

Congratulating the participating students, Ambassador Junaid commended the displayed artwork, noting that it reflected the students’ inspiring creativity, talent, and hard work and encouraged them to continue pursuing their passion for art. He added that art work built bridges between civilizations and these awards positively contributed towards this very objective.

The first prize was awarded to Sümeyye Akburak of Balçova Anadolu Lisesi, while Asude Hafsa Bekar and Kerem Gözel of Işılay Saygın Güzel Sanatlar Lisesi secured the second and third positions respectively in the competition. Esma Beyza Ulaş, Eylül Akçalı, and Eylül Güneş were recognized as ‘Emerging Artists’, and Saliha Hilal Dirik received an ‘Honorable Mention’.

Named after the renowned Pakistani artist Abdul Rahman Chughtai, the Pakistan Embassy has been organizing the Chughtai Art Awards Competition among high school students in Turkiye since 2011. Previously, the competition was successfully organized in the provinces of Ankara, Konya, Bursa Biltis, and Adana.