ANKARA, 13 November 2013: Turkish President H.E. Mr. Abdullah Gul today received a high level parliamentary delegation from Pakistan led by Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed, Chairman of the Senate Standing Committee on Defence & Defence Production.

The Turkish President appreciated the smooth transfer of power from one elected government to another elected government as a result of recent elections in Pakistan. He said this is an indication that democracy has strengthened and Pakistan is moving in the right direction. President Gul said both Pakistan and Turkey have similar problems and hoped that like Turkey, Pakistan will also overcome challenges it is facing today. Mr. Gul said recent initiatives undertaken by the leaderships of Turkey and Pakistan in the economic field are yielding positive results.

Senator Mushahid Hussain conveyed the best wishes of the Parliament and the people of Pakistan. He said Turkey and Pakistan are joined together with deep and abiding bonds of friendship and brotherhood which have withstood the test of times. The Senator said coming to Turkey is like coming home, for him and for all the delegation. He appreciated the positive role of Turkey in the region, particularly Turkish contribution for hosting Afghanistan-Pakistan-Turkey trilateral summit meetings. He said Turkey has made remarkable progress in the last decade and commended the public welfare oriented policies of the Turkish government.

“Pakistan Institute for Legislative Development and Transparency” (PILDAT), a Pakistani think-tank, organized the visit with a purpose to undertand the evolution and consolidation of democracy in Turkey. The delegation’s engagements include meetings with Turkish leadership, Speaker and various Parliamentary committees of the Turkish Grand National Assembly, political parties and interaction with leading Turkish think-tanks.  

The visiting delegation includes Syed Naveed Qamar (former federal minister for defence and currently member National Assembly), Senator Farhatullah Babar, Senator Mir Hasil Bizenjo (Senior Vice President of National Party), Dr. Ramesh Kumar Vankwani (member National Assembly), Sardar Awais Ahmed Khan Leghari (former Ministr and member National Assembly) Ms. Shaista Pervaiz Malik (member National Assembly), Mr. Faisal Karim Kundi (former Deputy Speaker National Assembly), Lt. General (retired) Humayun Bangash (former Ambassador to Turkey), Mr. Shahid Malik (former Ambassador), Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Moinuddin Haider (former Governor Sindh and former Federal Minister for Interior), Mr. Tasneem Noorani (former Secretary Interior), Mr. Ghazi Salahuddin (senior journalist/analyst), Mr. Cyril Almeida (senior journalist) and Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob (President PILDAT).

More photos of the visit on